Home Education News CS Magoha appoints a 9-member committee to come up with schools' reopening...

CS Magoha appoints a 9-member committee to come up with schools’ reopening strategies

The ministry of education has today appointed a 9-member committee to come up with proper strategies that will guide reopening of Basic Education Institutions(Pre-Primary, Primary, Secondary, Teacher Training Colleges and Adult Education Institutions) in the wake of coronavirus pandemic.


The committee whose work starts immediately is expected to explore possible ways to restore normalcy in the basic education sector and further review and reorganize academic calendar as part of Covid-19 post recovery strategy.

While launching the team at KICD Nairobi, Education CS Prof. Magoha asked the team to advice the ministry on ways of onboarding students/pupils when schools reopen.

Magoha also tasked the committee to come up with health and safety measures to be put in place for the pupils/students, teachers and entire school community.

The committee will also document all Covid-19 related matters, lessons learnt and recommendations for future preparedness.

The team, chaired by Kenya Institute for Curriculum Development Chairperson Sarah Ruto, will submit regular reports to Ministry of education on the implementation progress of covid-19 related programmes, a statement from the Education Ministry said on Tuesday.

Other members

Other members of the team are; Chairman, Kenya Secondary Schools Heads Association Indimuli Kahi, Chairman, Kenya Primary Schools Heads Association Nicholas Gathemia, CEO, Kenya Private Schools Association Peter Ndoro and Chairman, Kenya Parents Association Nicholas Maiyo.

Also in the team are Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops Augustine Muthigani, Kenya Association for Independent International Schools Jane Mwangi, National Council of Churches of Kenya’s Nelson Makanda, Muslim Education Council’s Sheikh Munawar Khan and Chairman, Kenya Special Schools Heads Association Peter Sitienei.

Popular Posts

KUCCPS Student Portal Login student.kuccps.net for 2021/2022 Admission Application

Kenya University and College Central placement service (KUCCPS) is a body that is responsible for admission of students to universities and colleges in Kenya....

How to create new TSC TPAD Account (https://tpad2.tsc.go.ke) for self appraisal

TPAD is a performance evaluation mechanism that assesses the performance of a teacher as per the set standards prescribed by the Commission. Section 52 of...

Links to the Best Telegram Channels/Groups in Kenya

Telegram channels are increasingly becoming the best and easiest media of communication in Kenya. Apart from communication, they are also a source of unending...

TSC Online Payslip 2021 Login; View, Download via tpay.tsc.go.ke

Teacher service commission (TSC) Payslip is a note given to teachers after they have been paid, detailing the amount of pay given, and the...

How to apply for TSC Internship jobs online through TSC Website (hrmis.tsc.go.ke)

Recently the Teachers Service Commission advertised 6,674 recruitment vacancies for intern teachers in a bid to cushion overstretched teaching force in public primary and secondary...