HomeEducation NewsBest universities in Kenya 2019

Best universities in Kenya 2019

University of Nairobi

The University of Nairobi (UoN), based in Kenya’s capital, is the oldest and largest university in the country.

It was first founded as the Royal Technical College in 1956 and, after a number of transformations and name changes, in 1970 it became known as the university it is today.

For many years UoN was the only higher education institution in Kenya.

Kenyatta University 

Kenyatta University (KU) is a public research university with its main campus in both Nairobi County and Kiambu County.

It acquired the status of university in 1985, being the third university after University of Nairobi (1970) and Moi University (1984). As of October 2014, it was one of 23 public universities in the country.

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) is a public university Kenya.

It is situated in Juja along the Thika SuperHighway. It offers courses in Technology, Engineering, Science, Architecture and Building sciences.

The university has a strong research interest in the areas of biotechnology and engineering.

Strathmore University

Strathmore University is a catholic university based in Nairobi.

Strathmore College was started in 1961, as the first multi-racial, multi-religious Advanced-level Sixth Form College offering science and arts subjects.

It was started by a group of professionals who formed a charitable educational trust (now the Strathmore Educational Trust)

United States International University Africa 

United States International University Africa, also known as USIU Africa, is a private university situated in Nairobi.

The university is accredited by the Commission for Higher Education in Kenya and by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

Moi University 

Moi University is a public university located in Kesses, Uasin Gishu county.

It was established in 1984 by the Moi University Act of the Parliament of Kenya, after recommendations from the McKay Commission.

Mount Kenya University 

Mount Kenya University is a private, multi-campus, chartered university in Kenya.

MKU is one of the largest private universities in the country, with a student body in excess of 52,000, as at September 2015.

Egerton University 

Egerton University is one of the oldest institutions of higher learning in Kenya.

It was founded as a Farm School in 1939 by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who settled in Kenya in the 1920s. In 1950, the School was upgraded to an Agricultural College offering diploma programmes.

Technical Universities of Kenya

Technical University of Kenya is a public university in Nairobi, Kenya.

It was chartered in January 2013 by then-president Mwai Kibaki.

Catholic University of Eastern Africa

CUEA in a Nairobi based Universities founded on 3 September 1984 in as a Graduate School of Theology, under the name the Catholic Higher Institute of Eastern Africa (CHIEA).

The Institute was founded by the regional ecclesiastical authority known as Association of Member Episcopal Conferences of Eastern Africa (AMECEA).

Other top universities in Kenya include:

  • Kenya Methodist University
  • Africa Nazarene University
  • Kenya Methodist University
  • Maseno University
  • Daystar University
  • KCA University
  • Dedan Kimathi University of Technology
  • Kisii University
  • St Paul’s University
  • Pwani University
  • Karatina University
  • Kabarak University
  • Kibabii University
  • University of Eldoret
  • University of Embu

Popular Posts