HomeBreaking NewsPoliticsSenator Cleophas Malala to Lead Waiguru impeachment Committee

Senator Cleophas Malala to Lead Waiguru impeachment Committee

The 11 member committee that was tasked the responsibility of looking into the case of Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru who was impeached last week by the Kirinyaga County Assembly members, has today during its first meeting appointed Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala to chair the committee and be deputised by  Abshiro Halake and hence their work commencing off.

The 11-member team Committee is composed of the following Senators;

1. Sen. Abshiro Halake

2. Sen.Michael Mbito

3. Sen. Mwangi Paul Githiomi

4. Sen. Beth Mugo

5. Sen. Anuar Loitiptip

6. Sen. Philip Mpaayei

7. Sen. Cleophas Malala

8. Sen. Beatrice Kwamboka

9. Sen. Stewart Madzayo

10. Sen. Judith Pareno

11. Sen. Moses Kajwang’

Cleophas Malala who is  Kakamega Senator and also the Minority Deputy Whip in  the senate was elected unopposed by the 9 members present  today out of the 11-member committee while  Jubilee ‘s nominated Senator Abshiro Halake beat Nyandarua County Senator Paul Mwangi Githiomi where they garnered 5 and 4 votes respectively.

Senator Malala, speaking after his election, he reiterated that the committee has 10 days to  hear the case and “make a fair judgement” and  hence they will submit the report of their verdict by Friday next week.

He thanked the members for electing him and  urged the committee to cooperate and perform the responsibility they have been tasked diligently as now all eyes are directed to them and hence serve the people of Kirinyaga County with justice.

In his speech this is what he said “I assure the public that we shall be impartial…We will allow all litigants to appear before us,”.

This comes only after a heated exchange in the senate on 16th June 2020 where Senators differed on which way to go as others were opting for a plenary way led by Elgeiyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen and others opting for committee way, but during the voting those who preferred the committee way won by 45 senators and those who voted against it were 14.

This means Waiguru needs 6 senators to vote in favour of her and his seat will be saved.

Popular Posts