HomeEducation NewsList of Egerton University distance learning courses

List of Egerton University distance learning courses

Egerton University is a public university in Kenya whose main campus is located in Njoro near Nakuru, Kenya. The university was established in 1939. Its current vice chancellor is professor Rose Mwonya.

School mission; To generate significant knowledge and offer exemplary education to contribute to national and global development.

The core values include include integrity, transparency and accountability, social fairness and passion for excellence and devotion to duty.

The college of Open and Distance Learning [CODL] of Egerton University was launched in 2002. Its mandate is to develop, co- ordinate, promote and manage all open and distance learning of Egerton University. It is headed by a Director who is answerable to the Deputy Vice Chancellor.
CODL Vision; To be a national and regional centre of excellence in, and first choice for distance learning and research.

CODL Mission;- Expanding access to quality and affordable higher education for Kenyans.

Integrate with the local community through provision of service and consultancy.
Select, develop and utilize appropriate media and technologies for teaching, learning, assessment and evaluation in distance learning.
Improve the quality of primary and secondary education through research and enhanced access to continuing professional development by teachers.
Establish collaborations and partnerships with local and international institutions to develop, sustain and enhance appropriate and effective distance learning systems and personnel.

The courses offered include;


Master of Business Administration
Master in Education Management
Master of Arts in Security Management
Master of Arts in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Master of Science in Community development and Extention
Master in Business Administration and Executive Masters in Business Administration


Bachelor of Arts in Criminology and security studies
Bachelor of Science in Community Development
Bachelor of Library and Information Science
Bachelor of Psychology
Bachelor of Military Science
Bachelor of Commerce [Finance, Marketing and Human Resource]
Bachelor of Education.


Diploma in Military science

Popular Posts