HomeEducation News2021 Elimu Scholarship For KCPE 280 Marks & Above; Eligibility, How To...

2021 Elimu Scholarship For KCPE 280 Marks & Above; Eligibility, How To apply, Targeted Sub-counties

The Ministry of Education through Equity Group Foundation is awarding Secondary School Scholarships in 110 targeted Sub-Counties and fifteen  (15) urban centres with informal settlements to needy and vulnerable learners who attained 280 marks and above in the 2020 KCPE Examination. 

For affirmative action, candidates who are Orphans and/or from Vulnerable Communities and those with special needs and disabilities who  attained below 280 marks may be considered

Only candidates who sat the 2020 KCPE examinations from public primary schools in the 110 Sub-Counties and the fifteen (15) urban centres  with informal settlements will be eligible to apply. The 110 targeted Sub-Counties are as per the National Government Administrative areas that  existed in the year 2015. The list of the targeted Sub-Counties and the fifteen (15) urban centres with informal settlements are available in the  Ministry of Education and Equity Group Foundation websites: www.education.go.ke and https://egfdmis.equitybank.co.ke/register_elimu 

The applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria: 

  • Candidates with special needs and disabilities (Physical, Hearing and Visual Impairments, Autism, Albinism, Learning Disabilities and  Others); or  
  • Orphans and vulnerable children; or 
  • Candidates from vulnerable communities in the target Sub-Counties; or 
  • Candidates from urban centres with informal settlements; or 
  • Candidates: 

o Whose parents/guardians are living with disabilities that have compromised their ability to meet the financial obligations of their  children.  

o Whose families are affected by HIV/AIDS and other chronic illnesses with debilitating effects that could render parents and guardians  destitute and unable to fend for their families. 

o Whose families are affected by extreme poverty rendering them unable to educate their children. 

o Who have suffered from neglect, abuse and have no support to continue with their education. 

How to apply

Interested applicants are advised to collect scholarship application forms from the nearest Equity Bank Branch or Equity Bank Agent. Application  forms can also be downloaded from the Ministry of Education and Equity Group Foundation websites; www.education.go.ke and https://egfd mis.equitybank.co.ke/register_elimu 

Duly completed application forms including supporting documents should be submitted to the nearest Equity Bank Branch by 31st May, 2021

Shortlisted candidates, accompanied by parents/guardians, will be invited for interviews which will be conducted by the Community Scholarship  Advisory Committees.  

The scholarship caters for school fees, transport to and from school, learning materials and school kit for the beneficiaries for the four-year edu cation period. Please note that ONLY the candidates who meet the stipulated requirements will be considered for the scholarship. Members of the  public are urged to share this information widely so as to reach as many potential beneficiaries as possible. 


For any questions or grievances regarding the application process of the Elimu Scholarship Programme, please contact Tel: +254 763 063 000,  elimu@equitygroupfoundation.com or elimu@education.go.ke.  

Equity Center 8th Floor Hospital Road, Upper Hill, P.O Box 75104-00200, Nairobi, Kenya.  


Sub County Sub County Sub County
1. Baringo North 38. Magarini 75. Kuria East
2. East Pokot 39. Malindi 76. Kuria West
3. Marigat 40. Marani 77. Uriri
4. Chepalungu 41. Nyamache 78. Kandara
5. Sotik 42. Ikutha 79. Kigumo
6. Bungoma West 43. Kyuso 80. Murang’a East
7. Cheptais 44. Mumoni 81. Tinderet
8. Mt Elgon 45. Mutito 82. Trans Mara East
9. Bunyala 46. Mutomo 83. Samburu Central
10. Busia 47. Mwingi Central 84. Samburu East
11. Butula 48. Mwingi East 85. Samburu North
12. Nambale 49. Nzambani 86. Taveta
13. Samia 50. Tseikuru 87. Bura (Tana North)
14. Teso North 51. Kinango 88. Tana Delta
15. Teso South 52. Kwale 89. Tana River
16. Marakwet East 53. Msambweni 90. Tharaka North
17. Marakwet West 54. Laikipia North 91. Tharaka South
18. Balambala 55. Masinga 92. Kibish
19. Dadaab 56. Yatta 93. Loima
20. Fafi 57. Kathonzweni 94. Turkana Central
21. Hulugho 58. Kibwezi 95. Turkana East
22. Ijara 59. Makindu 96. Turkana North
23. Lagdera 60. Makueni 97. Turkana South
24. Suba 61. Nzaui 98. Turkana West
25. Garbatula 62. Banisa 99. Buna
26. Isiolo 63. Lafey 100. Eldas
27. Merti 64. Mandera Central 101. Habaswein
28. Kajiado Central 65. Mandera East 102. Tarbaj
29. Loitokitok 66. Mandera North 103. Wajir East
30. Butere 67. Mandera West 104. Wajir North
31. Kakamega South 68. Chalbi 105. Wajir South
32. Khwisero 69. North Horr 106. Wajir West
33. Likuyani 70. Loiyangalani 107. Pokot Central
34. Lugari 71. Marsabit 108. Pokot North
35. Navakholo 72. Marsabit South (Laisamis) 109. Pokot South
36. Ganze 73. Moyale 110. West Pokot
37. Kaloleni 74. Sololo


1. Thika 4. Nakuru 7. Nyeri 10. Machakos 13. Kilifi
2. Nairobi 5. Mombasa 8. Embu 11. Kitui 14. Naivasha
3. Eldoret 6. Kisumu 9. Garissa 12. Kericho 15. Kakamega

Popular Posts